Shout Box

You are unable to view or post in the shoutbox until you have at least 5 posts.


Post Reply 
[help please!] bricked innotab 2
Author Message
wenny Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2013
Post: #1
[help please!] bricked innotab 2
hi

i made the stupid mistake of bricking my sons innotab 2, i have tried the unbricking tutorial (Tutorial) - Fixing a bricked system but i'm getting no where. putty connects but i am unsure what commands i need to enter, i have tried all the commands posted in the tutorial but i'm getting no response from the innotab. any ideas where i'm going wrong???

regards

paul
08-07-2013 04:59 AM
Send this user a private message Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Deak Phreak Offline
Super Spiffy Admin
*******

Deak Phreak

Posts: 1,135
Joined: Nov 2009
Post: #2
RE: [help please!] bricked innotab 2
I am sorry to hear that. So you purchased the USB to UART (TTL) Cable module PL2303 Converter, got the drivers installed and soldered it to the system? You may want to connect the RX TX wires together "not soldered to the board" but keep the ground soldered. Connect it to the computer and run putty. Type in some stuff and hit enter, you should still see the words. This says your converter is working fine. Re-solder them to the board, connect via putty and you should come up with a black screen. Turn on the Innotab and you should see a bunch of bootup stuff in Putty. If you don't, swap the RX and TX wires and try again.

Feel free to post any pics of your setup.

Edit: be aware of some issues that I had with my setup while using putty. I have windows 7 64bit and when running putty for a while with lots of output on the screen, it would crash my computer after some time. I had to limit how much output was sent to putty meaning I would wait to connect until the bootup process was done, then connect via putty, do my stuff and then disconnect and shut down putty.

08-08-2013 01:24 AM
Send this user a private message Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
wenny Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2013
Post: #3
RE: [help please!] bricked innotab 2
thanks for the reply, i checked the connection by joining the rx to the tx and i got a response, so i looked a little deeper and found that i had been connecting the rxd and txd to the wrong pads Icon_redface

so i connected them to the correct pads and pluged the innotab in (not turned on) and below is what shows up, if i enter cmds after this i still get no response, if i press the power on button i get jiberrish after every key stroke


innotab boot up Wrote:iROM v2 Entry A400-S160 MHz





SPI Boot...(ID: 0x00) Fail


Nand Boot...NF_NON_SHARE->Fail


SDC/eMMC Boot...cmd SD_STATUS = 0x304


cmd SD_STATUS = 0x304


cmd SD_STATUS = 0x1304


cmd SD_STATUS = 0x1304


0x92004000 = 0x00000952


0x92004008 = 0x08000010


0x9200400C = 0x0000030D


0x92004010 = 0x080B1833


0x92004014 = 0x4D832000


0x9200401C = 0x04080432


0x92004024 = 0x00660044


0x92004028 = 0x28282F2F


0x92005010 = 0x00000403


delay:512 Loop ...Finished


0x90005004 = 0xEC722E83


0x9000505C = 0x073232B4


0x90005104 = 0x1F800003


0x920050A0 = 0x00000098


0x93007004 = 0x41993A18


0x93007044 = 0x0500012D


0x9300E2B8 = 0x002E0200


0x9301F020 = 0x00000C02


0x9301F02C = 0x00000003


0x9301F038 = 0x00000FFF


delay:1 ms ...Finished
08-08-2013 03:59 AM
Send this user a private message Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Deak Phreak Offline
Super Spiffy Admin
*******

Deak Phreak

Posts: 1,135
Joined: Nov 2009
Post: #4
RE: [help please!] bricked innotab 2
Connect the serial cable to your computer but don't load up putty yet, turn on the tablet and wait for a bit, does anything show on the screen? Does it just power down or what happens? Let it sit there for a little while then connect via putty. Does this start spitting out any information or does it go to a blank screen?

If it goes to a blank screen, try pushing 1021 and then hit enter to see if you get a command prompt.

You may also want to double check your soldering to the pads and make sure they are connected well and not touching anything else.

Lastly, do you have a backup of the firmware?

08-08-2013 08:47 AM
Send this user a private message Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
wenny Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2013
Post: #5
RE: [help please!] bricked innotab 2
thanks for the reply but its come to the point where i'm going to have to buy my son a new innotab.

unfortunatly my son ran up to me yesterday and grabbed the innotab thinking that it was fixed and ended up pulling the soldered wires off the innotab along with the pads that they where soldered to Icon_frown

thanks again for all your assistance

regards

paul
08-08-2013 04:43 PM
Send this user a private message Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Deak Phreak Offline
Super Spiffy Admin
*******

Deak Phreak

Posts: 1,135
Joined: Nov 2009
Post: #6
RE: [help please!] bricked innotab 2
(08-08-2013 04:43 PM)wenny Wrote:  thanks for the reply but its come to the point where i'm going to have to buy my son a new innotab.

unfortunatly my son ran up to me yesterday and grabbed the innotab thinking that it was fixed and ended up pulling the soldered wires off the innotab along with the pads that they where soldered to Icon_frown

thanks again for all your assistance

regards

paul

Ah dang, thats not good, well its still possible to fix it if you can cut away some of the leads and expose the copper underneath that go to the pad and solder to that. You could simply buy an Innotab2 online through Ebay or something with a cracked screen for way cheap and then just swap the screen with yours. Ive got a few like that if you wanted to buy one, just make me an offer Icon_smile I was going to throw them up on Ebay.

08-09-2013 12:59 AM
Send this user a private message Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
wenny Offline
Junior Member
**

Posts: 4
Joined: Aug 2013
Post: #7
RE: [help please!] bricked innotab 2
hey

I managed to buy an innotab 2 with a broken screen for £4 so a nice cheap replacement. just gotta wait for it to arrive and then swap the screens around. not a total loss Icon_smile

I hade been looking around and there are some pretty cheap tablets around, some of them actually cheaper than the innotab, I was going to buy my son one of them but managed to get the broken innotab dirt cheap Icon_cheesygrin
08-10-2013 08:22 AM
Send this user a private message Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Deak Phreak Offline
Super Spiffy Admin
*******

Deak Phreak

Posts: 1,135
Joined: Nov 2009
Post: #8
RE: [help please!] bricked innotab 2
Yup broken Innotabs are way cheap to get. Ive been focused on the Leap Pads lately, my kids love them! You can find some online for cheap as well. I usually buy them in bulk and come across some fully functional ones, but the touch screen isn't working right. A simple calibration fixes it Icon_smile Others simply need the screen replaced.

These are my current tablets, most of them with broken screens

[Image: dsc_8745jpg.jpg]

08-11-2013 03:22 AM
Send this user a private message Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply